Tanzania Human Rights Defenders Coalition (THRDC) during implementation of the past five years Strategic Plan (2013-2018) had focal persons (FP) representing the Coalition in their respective zones. The representation was both in Tanzania Mainland and Zanzibar. These focal persons were representing eleven zones; namely; Central Zone (Dodoma, Morogoro and Singida) East Coast Zone (Dar es Salaam and Coastal Region), Southern Highland (Mbeya, Rukwa and Sumbawanga) Lake Zone (Mwanza, Mara and Simiyu), Western Lake Zone (Kagera, Geita and Shinyanga) Southern Coast Zone (Ruvuma, Mtwara and Lindi), Northern Zone (Kilimanjaro, Arusha, Tanga and Manyara), Zanzibar (Unguja and Pemba), Western  Zone (Tabora, Kigoma and Katavi) and Southern Zone (Njombe and Iringa). The qualification for being appointed a focal person was first to be a THRDC member both individual and member organizations. Implementations of focal persons’ activities were based on assigned responsibilities by THRDC and any other emerging activities that needed their support.


According to the Constitution of the Tanzania Human Rights Defenders Coalition (THRDC), the structure of the Coalition is composed of four major organs. These are:

  1. General Assembly
  2. Board of Directors
  3. Secretariat; and,
  4. Zonal Coordinating Units (ZCU)

According to Article 18, the Advisory Council is composed of inter alia Zonal Representatives from across the country.  In compliance with its Constitution and in order to facilitate smooth coordination of its members from across the country the THRDC has established a total of eleven zones.  In each zone there shall be one organization to be responsible with the coordination of all matters relating to HRDs under the Tanzania Human Rights Defenders Coalition. These zonal representatives shall be called Zonal Coordinating Units (ZCU).


The National Coordinator shall appoint an organization to be ZCU based on the following factors;

  1. Must be THRDC active member
  2. Must have stable institution capable of hosting the Zonal Coordinator and implement some of the THRDC’s activities at zonal level.
  3. To demonstrate capacity or experience to defend human rights either locally or international
  4. Activeness in participating in human rights activities coordinated by THRDC, its members or any other likeminded partners/stakeholders
  5. Must be an organization having good relationship with the government and or having good strategies of forming harmonious relationship between CSOs and the government


Roles of Zonal Coordinating Units are diverse because on one hand they implement their organization’s roles and on the other hand implement the roles assigned by THRDC. Therefore it is imperative that Zonal Coordinating Units strike balance between the two. Zonal Coordinating Units are divided into four categories namely;-

  • Supervisory role
  • Administrative role
  • Coordination role
  • Reporting roles
  • Any other role the Coordinator of THRDC may assign


Zonal Coordinator: Alex  Issack Luoga

Zonal Coordinating Unit: Youth Against AIDS & Poverty Association (YAAPA)

Zone: Western Zone

Region: Kigoma, Tabora, Katavi

Zonal Coordinator: Angela Benedicto Mnagonza

Zonal Coordinating Unit: Wote Sawa Youth Domestic Workers

Zone: Lake Zone

Region: Mwanza, Mara, Simiyu

Name: Clemence, Clelinus Mwombeki

Organization: Door of Hope to Women and Youth Tanzania (DHWYT)

Location: Zonal Coordinator – Tanzania Human Defenders Coalition (Lindi, Mtwara, Ruvuma)

Name: Gabriel John

Organization: Paralegal Primary Justice (PPJ)

Location: Kyela – Mbeya

Name: Jaruo B Karebe

Organization: Member of Tanzania human rights defenders coalition. (THRDC)

Location:  Tabora, Katavi and Kigoma

Name: Mussa Kombo

Organization: Pemba Invironmental and Malaria Control (PEMCO)

Location: Pemba Island

Name Rose Sarwatt

Organization: Tanzania Widows Association, TAWIA


Name: Saida Amour

Organization:  Law and Shariah

Location:  Zanzibar

Name: Davis D Shyogotera

Organization: Tanzania Human Rights Defenders Coalition (THRDC)